The True Light

13820-jesus-is-the-light

Joh 1:4  In him was life; and the life was the light of men.
Joh 1:5  And the light shineth in the darkness; and the darkness apprehended it not.

I don’t know that I have ever read anything more true than those words in John, well maybe Gen 1:1 and John 3:16 or any other passage in the Bible but you get my point.  I hope.  When I was still lost in sin, I was in darkness.  Utter, bitter, complete, terrifying, horrific, gut wrenching, pain filled anguish – darkness.  Darkness that felt so dark I now believe it was a hint of what Rev 16:10 – And the fifth poured out his bowl upon the throne of the beast; and his kingdom was darkened; and they gnawed their tongues for pain, – is talking about.  Darkness that hurt, how can it, I,  be so dark that it hurts, but it can and it does.  John is spot on when he tells us the cure for that darkness, such an obvious cure it would seem, light.  But not just any ole light will do.  Trust me I know – I went almost an entire year not sleeping at night instead sitting up with every light I could find blazing bright and it did nothing, I still cowered in fear, trembling, shaking, seeking, searching, but not praying.  NO not praying, I didn’t know prayer, how to do it really I thought, didn’t really know God.  Sure I had heard of Him, my Mama had talked about Him some, always told the fall colors on the hills was His patchwork quilt.  I had been to a kids church program a few times one year but my family didn’t pray, read the Bible, own a bible, talk about God really, so I didn’t know Him and I hurt.  Hurt. Hurt.  All my life.  But I never gave up cause something kept whispering hold on, hang on, wake up, hear me, I’m hear.  Who’s there, who are you.  Then one day I heard His answer I am that I am, I am God your father, I love you.  And for the first time ever I knew peace, I saw real true pure light!  Light that banished the darkness of my soul, washed me white as snow, set me free. LIGHT!  Oh that glorious light, the light of life, love, hope, JESUS!  My Lord and Savior, I praise and thank Him with every ounce and fiber of all He made me that He loves me, saved me, healed and made me whole, that He is light of my life, my world.  And that one day, one very glorious magnificent day, I will get to thank Him face to face.  Until then my life is His, I will use it to bring Him glory and honor, to praise Him, to share Him and His love, His light.  Light.  Won’t you accept that light today and be set free?  It is so very simple, yet seems so very hard I know, I remember but once you’re freed you will never look back except to wonder how Satan kept you in the dark so long.  Repent of your sins for they are the darkness that envelopes your soul, tormenting, torturing you and ask Jesus into your heart to fill you with the light of His love, His grace, His mercy, His freedom.  And rest secure in the arms of the truest, purest love you can know for all eternity.

jesusthelight1

Save

Leave a Reply

