Exit Now

acts238-exit-now

And Peter said unto them, Repent ye, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ unto the remission of your sins; and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.
(Acts 2:38)

I think this may be one of the most promising, hopeful verses in the Bible.  It lays out God’s plan of salvation right there in one sentence, 37 words contain an eternity of promise, joy and peace.  Thirty-seven words, words so important to each one of us.  Because we must all at some point stand before God in judgement and without acting on this verse we WILL be guilty.  Guilty.  Such an ugly word, such a true word.  I am guilty, guilty of breaking God’s laws, guilty of so many things, and I deserve to be judged for those sins.  Whether it is stealing for the time I took candy from the store as a kid or lying for calling off work once when I wasn’t really sick or wanting what my friends had but I didn’t, I’m guilty and the price for that guilt should be eternal separation from God when I am cast into the lake of fire in hell.  Eternal separation from the creator who tenderly “knit me together in my mother’s womb,”  who loves me so much He sent His only son to die for me, who wants me.  Broken, weary, sinful me.  I think being separated from Him for all eternity is scarier than the lake of fire part honestly.  I spend the first 34 years of my life without him, 34 years of constant worry, confusion, terror, torment.  But the moment I let Christ in that all changed.  The terror that had tormented my nights – gone.  The worry about everything – gone.  The chaos and confusion that kept me from being the wife and mom I was meant to be – gone.  I was free, totally completely freed from the fate I deserved.  The fate that had taunted and tormented me for so very long.  Because Jesus paid my debt, I am free to live life and life abundantly, and not just here on earth but for all eternity with my Lord.  That is a gift, one I do not deserve but one I am so extremely grateful for, one I can never repay, I can only tell others.  Share the good news with all who will listen that they too may have this peace, this freedom, know this love.  It’s what I pray for you all if you don’t already know my King.  Get to know Him.  Repent and be baptized in the name of Jesus, accept Him as your Lord and Savior.  By doing so you are baptized in His name, washed in His blood, made clean and whole. Exit the path of torment and sin now.  Be set free.

 

Leave a Reply

