Not Of This World

1-john-215

Love not the world…  These verses are tough, difficult, hard, uncomfortable at times.  Not always easy to do, sometimes I fail at them, actually I fail a lot at them.  It’s hard to shun the things of this world when everyone else is rushing headlong to partake of them and begging me to join them.  For instance when we choose to home school our child because we sincerely felt God had called us to it in spite of most of our family being vehemently against it, it was hard.  But we chose God and we’ve never regretted it.  He has blessed our school time, provided all the materials we need, and we’ve grown so much closer as family and most importantly to God our father!  Or when a few months ago I decided to close my Facebook account, for real.  I had more messages and comments that last day when I posted my last post wanting to know what was wrong with me, how would they talk to me (my post was saying that if you want to keep in touch let me know and I’d give them my contact info), wouldn’t I be bored, what was I thinking!  But again God was calling me out from a situation where I was focusing more on the things of the world, not on the Lord.  So I said good bye to Facebook and started basking in my new found time for study, more time for fun in our school time, more board games, more family reading time, bonfires, time with God and my guys.  God always knows what’s best and when He tells us not to be of this world He has great reasons for it.

This world is full of distractions, diversions, temptations – all cleverly crafted by Satan to lure our thoughts, wills, and hearts away from God.  To steal our joy in this life and if we are unsaved our souls.  Possibly to steal our lives outright.  Allowing the world to come between us and God leads to us taking risks, putting ourselves in danger and often risking others as well. We can all think of a hundred things that we use everyday that pull us away from God, that fill our minds with drama, gossip, lust, desire, greed, gluttony, envy, deception.  But that’s not what God wants for us, that’s Satan’s plan plain and simple.

and keep the charge of the LORD thy God, to walk in his ways, to keep his statutes, and his commandments, and his judgments, and his testimonies, according to that which is written in the law of Moses, that thou mayest prosper in all that thou doest, and whithersoever thou turnest thyself:
(1 Kings 2:3)

God knows what’s best for us, I mean He is the Creator of all things!  He holds the world in His hands, set the planets spinning, breathed the breathe of life in us, I think we can trust Him to lead, guide and keep us.  So I trust Him and I try my hardest to do what He tells me is best.  And when it gets hard remember the two verses above along with this one in closing and rest secure in the Lord and His will for your life.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.
(Jeremiah 29:11)

jeremiah-29-11

Leave a Reply

