I Believe

Yesterday I shared the song “We Believe” and asked a simple question “Do you believe?”   It’s such a simple question and for those of us who do believe the answer is so simple as well.  Yes.  With all my heart, mind and soul.  I believe in God the Father, Jesus Christ His Son, the Holy Spirit, the crucifixion and the resurrection and that one day, possibly very soon, He WILL come again!  How I long for that day, when my Savior calls me Home!  I believe.

But why do I believe.  I thought a lot about that after a conversation I had a few days ago with a scoffer.  Why, what convinced me that God is real, that Jesus died for me?  Made me so very certain of my faith.  Several things did the small still voice pointing the way, leading me to where I would never go on my own, especially when the going meant change, upheaval, struggle.  I tend on my own to prefer the easy way out, path of least resistance, ya know.  But when I was at my weakest, lowest, worst God spoke to my heart – ok, actually he pretty much had to scream at me like a drill sergeant to get my attention, but once he did I began to listen for that voice. And when I did things began to change, happen, and I knew love, peace, hope.  I had faith that it was all ok, no matter how it looked from my point of view because there was a master overall who could see the whole picture.  SO I trusted and I dug into Scripture and there I found in words what I had come to know, to believe.  Here are just a few of those reasons why I believe.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
(John 1:1)

genesis2&7.jpg

I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint: my heart is like wax; it is melted in the midst of my bowels. My strength is dried up like a potsherd; and my tongue cleaveth to my jaws; and thou hast brought me into the dust of death. For dogs have compassed me: the assembly of the wicked have inclosed me: they pierced my hands and my feet. I may tell all my bones: they look and stare upon me. They part my garments among them, and cast lots upon my vesture.
(Psalms 22:14-18)  This one shakes me to my core as it is a psalm of David written nearly a thousand years before Christ was born and crucified, yet David describes it in such great, exact detail, that it could only have been from God.

ebee462048ef35cd91957af2bf17842a

A nation was born at once on May 14, 1948.

Who hath heard such a thing? who hath seen such things? Shall the earth be made to bring forth in one day? or shall a nation be born at once? for as soon as Zion travailed, she brought forth her children.
(Isaiah 66:8)

isa96

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.
(Isaiah 9:6)

And I will end with this one because I could go on all day.  Pretty much every word in Scripture rings in my soul with truth so it all is why I believe, after all it’s His story.

Leave a Reply

