Be Transformed

Romans 12&2 Butterfly.jpg

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.
(Romans 12:1-2)

This passage reminds me of the song we taught our elementary kids program to sing – Sanctuary.  There was something so sweet about those little voices raised up saying “Lord, prepare me, to be a sanctuary.  Pure and holy, tried and true.”  As I sang along with them those words always stayed with me long after our class was over.  They became part of my prayer that God make me a useful vessel to bring honor and glory to His name.  That’s a funny thing about salvation you see, you no longer live your life for yourself but you live it for the Lord.  You’re the clay, He’s the potter and He’s gonna shape, mold you, making you perfect for whatever plan He has for your life.  You’re gonna be transformed.

I’ll be honest, I am not always the most pliable clay, I sometimes resist my Master’s hand when it is persuading me to bend or turn when I just don’t want to.  When it forces me out of my comfort zone, my path of least resistance and familiarity.  For instance when He laid the call to homeschool our son on my heart before He went to kindergarten, I didn’t head it.  Well, I wanted to sorta but I sought advice and guidance from the world, which thought I was insane.  I heard so many reasons why I was crazy to want to teach him at home.  What about me time?  Had I forgotten how  stubborn he is?  Was I a glutton for punishment?  How could I stand to be around my kid all day?  What was wrong with the public schools, I went to them and I turned out ok.  Was I trying to ruin his life?  You get the idea, every one had an opinion on why homeschooling was the worst idea ever.  Funny thing was I was having a Jonah moment and God new it.  He kept laying it on my heart to bring him home and teach him yet I kept listening to the world telling me not to.  Finally God sent my giant fish to get me to move.  Literally, the house we were renting got sold and we had to move.  Best thing ever!  God lead us right where He wanted us.  We found a lovely little homestead in the greatest little community.  We listened to God and finally pulled our son out of public school.  I don’t know why I listened to the world when He first called us to it but that was a huge mistake.  Once we heeded God’s call for our lives we realized what had been missing in our lives.  Now we focus on the Lord and His story to guide our studies, after all He is at the heart of everything.  And we spend more time on spending time together with read alouds at night, bible studies together, game nights, learning has become a way of life.  Best of all both my husband and our boy have given their lives to Christ in the last year.  Yea, God knew what was best, He was waiting to transform us and our lives but we had to let go of the world first.

1-john-215

That was my problem, the pride of life which is not of God.  But once I let my selfish longing for so called freedom, basically me time, and my fear of messing up royally, after all I don’t have the best track record, I let go and let God take over.  Once I did my life fell into place.  Sure it has been hard, challenging at times.  Trust me my son is a lot like me and that ain’t always good.  But those challenges force me to turn to my Lord to lead me and guide me.  My favorite verse is Phillipians 4:13 – I repeat it often every day to remind myself that I can do this.

phil413cross

The truth is that this world is only temporary, one day it will pass away.

the-world-desires

jeremiah-29-11

At that time I will face God and give account of my life, I don’t ever want to have to explain why I was throwing away the blessing He had for me, the plans to prosper me, of hope and a future.  So much hope, such a lovely future, such amazing plans!  Praise God,  finally listened.  Why I thought I or the world knew more than the Creator of all things, of me, of the world.  No, the world doesn’t know best, it only knows confusion, deceit, lust, greed, selfishness, and pain.  That’s not me, not who He calls me to be.  I’m transformed! Redeemed! Set free!

kneeling

 

 

Leave a Reply

