The Hope of the Righteous

When I began bible study to prepare for this post I was all over the place.  Nothing seemed to jump out at me and say “Hey, I’m what you wanna talk about!  It’s me.  Right here.”  Until I flipped to Proverbs and found this passage.

The fear of the LORD prolongeth days: but the years of the wicked shall be shortened. The hope of the righteous shall be gladness: but the expectation of the wicked shall perish. The way of the LORD is strength to the upright: but destruction shall be to the workers of iniquity. The righteous shall never be removed: but the wicked shall not inhabit the earth. The mouth of the just bringeth forth wisdom: but the froward tongue shall be cut out. The lips of the righteous know what is acceptable: but the mouth of the wicked speaketh frowardness.  (Proverbs 10:27-32)

I tried to ignore it, pretend God hadn’t put it on my heart but we know what happens when we try to ignore God’s call.  It’s better just to go with it.  Even when the text I have to work with isn’t easy, one I would normally tackle.  Here goes, pray for me that I get myself out of the way so God can lead to write what He wants me to.

The fear of the Lord lengthens men’s lives and crowns their hopes.When we put our faith in God we know that we have the Creator on our side, leading, guiding, strengthening us in all we do.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.  (Jeremiah 29:11)

We can trust that He has a plan and that it is good.  Very good!  His plan is that we would all spend eternity with Him in heaven.

And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and he will dwell with them, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them, and be their God.  (Revelation 21:3)

Sounds great to me, and definitely better than the consequences for not fearing Him – death for all eternity in a lake of fire separated from the God who created us and loves us, endless, unrelenting pain, torment, suffering, torture, hell.

By mercy and truth iniquity is purged: and by the fear of the LORD men depart from evil.
(Proverbs 16:6)

By fearing the Lord we have hope, hope of that bright future when we will be with our God forever.  Hope for an eternity of peace, love, joy, security, no suffering, no pain, no longing for the things of this world.  We have a mansion prepared for us by Jesus himself –

In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  (John 14:2)

in which to spend eternity in fellowship with Him, with God himself.  I can hardly wait.

The way of the LORD is strength to the upright: When we allow God’s ways to become our ways we are sure to prosper and enjoy real riches in this life as well as the next.

O LORD, I know that the way of man is not in himself: it is not in man that walketh to direct his steps.  (Jeremiah 10:23)

For the ways of God lead to true happiness, to joy, to peace, to contentment, to hope, to love, to Him.  But destruction shall be to the workers of iniquity.

The foolish shall not stand in thy sight: thou hatest all workers of iniquity.  (Psalms 5:5)

The workers of iniquity are those who instead choose to follow the ruler of this world and his ways.  Ways that lead to confusion, deceit, folly, wickedness, sickness, wars, desperation, depravity, wickedness of all forms.  The only true peace can come from God and allowing him to lead your life.

For thou art not a God that hath pleasure in wickedness: neither shall evil dwell with thee.
(Psalms 5:4)

The righteous shall never be removed: but the wicked shall not inhabit the earth. That pretty much sums it up.  God tells us that after the millennial kingdom of Christ then this old world will pass away, replaced with a new heaven and earth.  We are told all about this new world by John in Revelation 21. I find so much hope, so much to look forward to in these few passages.

And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea. And I John saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and he will dwell with them, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them, and be their God. And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new. And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true and faithful. And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely. He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son. But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.  (Revelation 21:1-8)

I long for the New Jerusalem and eternity with my Lord and Savior, with my God.

new-jerusalem

 

 

Leave a Reply

