My Rock

2-samuel-22-2-4

I was thinking this evening about the passage in Matthew about building your house upon a rock for stability, safety, permanence.  Upon a rock.  My son has always been a fan of rocks, drags them in from everywhere and presents them to me as if he’s giving me the greatest treasure, which in his eyes he is.  Over the years the rocks offered have changed when he was little it was any rock, every rock, all rocks – big, small, plain, fancy, limestone from the drive or a lovely creek pebble, rocks .  Now that he is growing up and studying geology during school, he’s selective about them, only the most unique, special, interesting ones actually get brought to me.  Now they have fossils, cool layers, are a special type of rock, a unique coloring.  He presents each one and tells me what it’s made of, how it formed, explains the characteristics that made it stand out.  As I thought about all the rocks he’s given me I realized that even though they were all very different they all shared some very important common traits.  They were all strong, sturdy, secure, solid.

I knew I had read the phrase “My rock” several times in the Bible so I used my concordance to find out just how many times it is used and how.  I love word studies, something about tracing one word or phrase throughout scripture really reveals new insights.  So tonight I studied the phrase “my rock.”  I am so glad I did.  I’m glad my kiddo has given me such a lovely collection of reminds of Jesus, my rock!

I invite you to dig deeper with me, to find the Rock, Jesus and build your life upon Him.  Ponder each of these verses, savor them, let them sink into your mind, heart and soul.  Let God speak to you through them.  I will write more about some of them in the coming days, but for now I want to hide them all in my heart where I can learn the truths they have to tell me.

He said,“The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge, my savior; you save me from violence.  I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies.  (2 Samuel 22:2-4)

The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and exalted be the God of the rock of my salvation.
(2 Samuel 22:47)

The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.  (Psalms 18:2)

psalms182

The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and let the God of my salvation be exalted.
(Psalms 18:46)

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.  (Psalms 19:14)

A Psalm of David. Unto thee will I cry, O LORD my rock; be not silent to me: lest, if thou be silent to me, I become like them that go down into the pit.  (Psalms 28:1)

Bow down thine ear to me; deliver me speedily: be thou my strong rock, for an house of defence to save me.  (Psalms 31:2)

For thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for thy name’s sake lead me, and guide me.
(Psalms 31:3)

He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.  (Psalms 40:2)

I say to God, my rock: “Why have you forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”  (Psalms 42:9)

from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.  (Psalms 62:1-2)

psalm62-2

He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved. In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.  (Psalms 62:6-7)

Be thou my strong habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: thou hast given commandment to save me; for thou art my rock and my fortress.  (Psalms 71:3)

He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God, and the Rock of my salvation.’
(Psalms 89:26)

To shew that the LORD is upright: he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.
(Psalms 92:15)

But the LORD is my defence; and my God is the rock of my refuge.  (Psalms 94:22)

Of David. Blessed be the LORD, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle;  (Psalms 144:1)

Are you not from everlasting, O LORD my God, my Holy One? We shall not die. O LORD, you have ordained them as a judgment, and you, O Rock, have established them for reproof.
(Habakkuk 1:12)

And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.  (Matthew 16:18)

Study the Rock.  Build upon Him.

May God bless and keep you all.

sinners-prayer-1

 

Leave a Reply

