See the Salvation of the Lord

exo 14&13.jpg

And Moses said to the people, “Fear not, stand firm, and see the salvation of the LORD, which he will work for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall never see again.  (Exodus 14:13)

Wow!  That is powerful – see the salvation of the Lord, which he will work for you today!  That’s just what he did too.  He parted the water, let the Israelites cross safely then swept away the pursuing Egyptians.  That’s after he had brought 10 plagues upon them culminating in the death of all the first born in the land.  I’m telling ya, that pharaoh he was one stubborn, mule headed, proud dude.  Cause when God starts smiting a nation with plagues He means business, as in it just got real real folks.  Have you read about these plagues – they ain’t pretty.  Water turns to blood, frogs, insects, boils, death, lots of death, pain and misery.  Yet, it still didn’t really convince pharaoh because even after telling Moses to take God’s people and go he decided to go after them and bring them back.  Way wrong move.  You don’t go against God, it’s always a terrible idea, as we see with Egypt here.

Where else do we see God’s salvation at work in such a real, in the moment, in your face kinda way?  This passage got me to wondering so let’s just see.

Sing to the LORD, all the earth! Tell of his salvation from day to day.  (1 Chronicles 16:23)

You will not need to fight in this battle. Stand firm, hold your position, and see the salvation of the LORD on your behalf, O Judah and Jerusalem.’ Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed. Tomorrow go out against them, and the LORD will be with you.”  (2 Chronicles 20:17)

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.  (Psalms 18:2)

psalm-271-cross

The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation—  (Psalms 18:46)

He will receive blessing from the LORD and righteousness from the God of his salvation.  (Psalms 24:5)

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?  (Psalms 27:1)

Our God is a God of salvation, and to GOD, the Lord, belong deliverances from death.  (Psalms 68:20)

Sing to the LORD, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day.  (Psalms 96:2)

The LORD has made known his salvation; he has revealed his righteousness in the sight of the nations.  (Psalms 98:2)

The LORD has bared his holy arm before the eyes of all the nations, and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God.  (Isaiah 52:10)

Truly the hills are a delusion, the orgies on the mountains. Truly in the LORD our God is the salvation of Israel.  (Jeremiah 3:23)

It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.  (Lamentations 3:26)

But I with the voice of thanksgiving will sacrifice to you; what I have vowed I will pay. Salvation belongs to the LORD!”  (Jonah 2:9)

jonah-29

And count the patience of our Lord as salvation, just as our beloved brother Paul also wrote to you according to the wisdom given him,  (2 Peter 3:15)

There are a lot of powerful, hopeful, love filled verses here.  When we know that our salvation lies with the Lord then we have nothing to fear.  Nothing!

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
(Romans 8:37-39)

Nothing can separate us from God once we give our lives to Him.  One we are born again believers in Christ, washed clean made whole, cross packing, followers of the Lamb then we can never be separated from Him.  For we are His given to Him by God the Father.

For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me. I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them. And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled.
(John 17:8-12)

Not one has been lost save the son of perdition, Judas Iscariot, the betrayer.  The one who sold his soul for 30 lousy pieces of silver.  He betrayed Jesus, handed Him over the those who would crucify Him.  He was lost, driven mad by the folly of his ways.  Lost for all eternity because he turned his back on the Lord.  Just as pharaoh turned his back, he too lost much.  But he wasn’t a follower or pretend follower of Christ, Judas was a disciple, a follower.  But not deep in his heart, he was just playing, acting, pretending, going through the motions with no heart in it.  We must carefully guard our hearts against such wicked ignorance and temptation.  We must never sell our souls, no matter the price offered, believe me it could never be enough.  Never.

I have more to say on the topic of pharaoh and the plagues as well as Judas but that’s another post entirely.  Maybe tomorrow night.   As always may God bless and keep you.

2-samuel-22-2-4

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

