Who God Is

One day when my son was younger he asked a hard question at the time.  Mom, who is God?  I was a new believer at this point and was still sorting that out myself so I hesitated a moment to give God time to lead me to the answer.  I asked why he asked that and he responded that his 1st grade teacher at the local public school had told him God and Jesus weren’t real, they were just stories like Santa, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy.  Ok!  Well, I had some damage control to do, and I again felt that we were not following God’s will by sending our precious son to public school.  I am stubborn though so it took me a while to head that call, sorry I digress, back to the question Who is God?

God is wisdom, love, knowledge, omnipotent, omnipresent, all knowing, all powerful!  The Creator of all that is, was, and will be.  He is our Father, our hero, our existence, our life, our sustenance  God is our friend, comforter, leader, lover, hope.  He is our judge, our law giver, our ruler, our source of all wisdom and knowledge.  Our fortress, rock, redeemer, strength, stronghold, unshakable foundation.  God is the Alpha and Omega, First and Last, Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  He is, he is God, He is my God and that’s enough for me.

It was enough for that 7 year old boy too.  He went to his teacher the next day and tried in a child’s innocent earnest way to shake the scales of unbelief from her eyes.  Did she commit her life to God then?  No, but a seed was planted by one persons careless scoffing and 4 years later that same boy gave his life to the Lord!  Today he spends a good deal of his time studying the word and learning to defend his faith so that the next time he has an opportunity to speak truth and life he will be ready.

 

Leave a Reply

