The Fear of the Lord

Come, O children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the LORD.  (Psalms 34:11)

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all those who practice it have a good understanding. His praise endures forever!  (Psalms 111:10)

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.  (Proverbs 1:7)

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight.  (Proverbs 9:10)

That’s what God has done for me, taught me to fear him.  Not fear like cower in terror but fear as in respect, revere, look on in awe and wonder, honor, obey, strive to please.  I do truly fear the thought of displeasing God.  When I pray I always ask that he lead and guide me that my life might bring honor and glory to His name.  My greatest desire is to stand before Him when I am judged and hear Him say “Well done.”  I try to live my life with that goal in mind, because if I do so then I know that I am about my Father’s work, winning souls to His kingdom.

The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul; the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple; the precepts of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart; the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes; the fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever; the rules of the LORD are true, and righteous altogether.
(Psalms 19:7-9)

It’s also something I try very hard to instill in my son, in fact my greatest prayer for him is that he his life be pleasing to God, wholly devoted to serving our father in heaven.  In fact each year when I plan our school year out I take that into consideration.  See we homeschool and that gives us the freedom to have God be the heart of our homeschool, after all the whole purpose of education is to know God and make Him known.  Since He is the creator of all things then He is at the heart of them as well.  That includes all the subjects we study – He is science, math, history, reading, writing, etc.  He is in it all, the author of it all, and without Him as the foundation then it’s empty, vain knowledge.  In fact if you remove God from His rightful place in education you are left with an empty, hollow, system which fails to give any true insight into the world and why we’re in it.  You can’t remove the Creator without harming the creation and you can’t properly learn about the creation without learning about, and knowing, the creator.

I have to admit it’s not always easy to be a christian homeschooling family – some people don’t get it.  And they don’t care to tell me that either.  But it’s ok, I know not everyone will get it and that some will be openly hostile to it.  That’s their problem, not mine. I am answering the call God has put on families and He is ultimately the only true authority to whom I am accountable.  Come judgement day when I stand before the throne I do not want to be asked why I disobeyed on a task and responsibility clearly given.  So over the last three years on this home education journey I have spent much time in the Word backing up this call with scripture, it is full of references and verses relating to a parent’s duty to educate their children.  Here’s just a few of my favorites.

Dueteronomy 6&7.jpg

 

Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.  (Proverbs 22:6)


Only take heed to thyself, and keep thy soul diligently, lest thou forget the things which thine eyes have seen, and lest they depart from thy heart all the days of thy life: but teach them thy sons, and thy sons’ sons;  (Deuteronomy 4:9)

duet 6 6&7.jpg

Come, O children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the LORD.
(Psalms 34:11)

Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be still wiser; teach a righteous man, and he will increase in learning.  (Proverbs 9:9)

I will open my mouth in a parable; I will utter dark sayings from of old, things that we have heard and known, that our fathers have told us. (Psalms 78:2-3)

Psalm 78&4.jpg

 

As you can see the Word is clear – we are to teach our children to fear the Lord, knowledge of the Lord, to teach them about God.  If you are a parent I ask you to dig into the scriptures, look for the numerous instances where parents are told to teach their children, train their children, raise them up and prayerfully study them.  Seek God’s will for your family and consider the call to bring them home to get a true education.  One that will bring honor and glory to God while leading your children in Jesus’ footsteps.  After all the hands the chubby little hands folded in prayer as you teach, read and lead today will be big teen hands in the blink of an eye.  Enjoy them now, make memories with them as you teach them and love them as only the family God chose for them can.

I will be posting on this subject periodically, as I know how challenging this journey  can be and I want to help others along it.  It’s not hard, believe me you can do it when you put God at the center and allow Him to lead and guide you.  Phillipians 4:13 is the motto around here!  Having a friend along the way to help keep your eyes focused on the Lord can really help though.  I will gladly be that friend to you all, if you have any questions, concerns, want to know more, whatever just comment on this post and I will be happy to help any way I am able and to pray for your family.

As always may the Lord bless and keep you.

Leave a Reply

