Inspired by God 4 Instruction

OpenBibleLightRays.jpg

When I started this post a couple nights ago I thought I wanted to follow the first half of this passage, All scripture is inspired of God.  But ya know, I just wasn’t feeling it, I would start, then stop, start, stop, till I thought maybe I was supposed to look for a different verse.  Before giving up on it though (It had shown up 3 times throughout the day Sunday) I reread it once more.  That time it jumped out at me what God was telling me, turns out I was looking at the wrong part.

…and is profitable for doctrine, reproof, correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works. Hmm, For instruction, furnished unto all good works.  I like that.  It kind of sums up some of our education and lifestyle choices.  We use the Bible as our main textbook, it’s the spine on which it all hinges.  After all he’s at the center of it all as the creator of it all.  It’s all HIS-story!

Then I noticed the verse right above that:

And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.  (2 Timothy 3:15)

Wow, that makes it pretty clear, we ought to teach scripture to our children that they may be wise to choose Christ because they know him through scripture.  It’s the main reason we homeschool, actually.  We want our son to known God, trust in him, and boldly declare His name to the world.

A few other verses pointing to this concept are:

And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. (Deuteronomy 6:7)

And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.  (Deuteronomy 11:19)

And thou shalt write them upon the door posts of thine house, and upon thy gates:  (Deuteronomy 11:20)

Teach me, and I will hold my tongue: and cause me to understand wherein I have erred.  (Job 6:24)

I will teach you by the hand of God: that which is with the Almighty will I not conceal.  (Job 27:11)

Shew me thy ways, O LORD; teach me thy paths.  Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.  (Psalms 25:4-5)

Come, ye children, hearken unto me: I will teach you the fear of the LORD.  (Psalms 34:11)

That’s just a quick few as well.  I think it’s clear that we are called by God to teach our kids.

Save

Leave a Reply

