We Will Serve the Lord

And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.  (Joshua 24:15)

When we built our house here on the homestead I this verse resonated strongly with me.  I know with every fiber of my being that God called us to this home, this life, that we could serve him.  This is his plan for us, he has guided us every step of the way, placing us exactly where he needs us.  So when my father-in-law found a picture quoting the last half of Josh. 24:15 and brought it to me shortly after we moved it in meant a lot to me.  I hung it where I see it everyday and smile when I read those words that I had prayed as the house was being built and our dreams were becoming a reality:  But as for me and my house we will serve you Lord!

It’s not always easy though, to serve Him.  Sometimes it’s down right hard. When the world calls to us with it’s temptations, it’s allures, it’s idols sometimes it is hard to stand fast and firm on the rock of the Lord.  Serving Him sometimes means doing things that are hard or uncomfortable.  It might mean stepping out of your comfort zone.  Or it might mean embracing the gifts he has given you and standing up for the chance to share them.  Even if that means recognizing that what you are doing to try and serve others isn’t serving His will.

As I have mulled this verse over the last few days as I face a decision that isn’t exactly easy I decided to see what God says about serving Him.  I looked up all the verses with the phrase “serve the Lord”.  Here are a few I found most helpful.  Maybe you will too.

And ye shall serve the LORD your God, and he shall bless thy bread, and thy water; and I will take sickness away from the midst of thee.  (Exodus 23:25)

And now, Israel, what doth the LORD thy God require of thee, but to fear the LORD thy God, to walk in all his ways, and to love him, and to serve the LORD thy God with all thy heart and with all thy soul,  (Deuteronomy 10:12)

Serve the LORD with fear, and rejoice with trembling. Kiss the Son, lest he be angry, and ye perish from the way, when his wrath is kindled but a little. Blessed are all they that put their trust in him.  (Psalms 2:11-12)

Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing.  (Psalms 100:2)

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ. But he that doeth wrong shall receive for the wrong which he hath done: and there is no respect of persons. (Colossians 3:23-25)

Colossians-3-23.jpg

I know what I must do, I must remember the promise I made the day Jesus saved my wretched soul, serve the Lord.  With all my heart, with all my soul, with all I am.  With Joy, hope, thanksgiving, love.  Always.

Now therefore put away, said he, the strange gods which are among you, and incline your heart unto the LORD God of Israel.  (Joshua 24:23)

Leave a Reply

