Love Is…

1-cor-134-7

I spent much time reading and reading, then praying these words tonight.  It was a hard day, not the day I had planned at all.  But as I prayed these words over and over tonight as I felt a peace, a calmness.

See love IS patient and kind.  Love is our Lord and Savior selflessly serving others – healing the sick, the blind, the lame.  Feeding multitudes, helping others, teaching truth, giving life.  Dying for our sins, that we might live forever.  Grace, grace, precious grace.  Love is patient, so patient it spent hours being tortured, beaten, mocked, spit upon, then hanging bleeding and dying for hours more on a cross while he prayed “Father, forgive them!  They know not what they do.”  That is patience, kindness, love.  That is my Jesus, your Jesus, our Jesus.  He is love!  I pray my life can be the proof of His love in this dark, sinful, lost world.  That His love will shine through me and light the path for one more brother or sister to join the kingdom of God before it is eternally too late.

If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels but have not love, I have become a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.  (1 Corinthians 13:1)
If I have the gift of prophecy and know all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith so as to remove mountains but have not love, I am nothing.  (1 Corinthians 13:2)
If I give away all that I own and if I hand over my body so I might boast but have not love, I gain nothing.  (1 Corinthians 13:3)
Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not brag, it is not puffed up,  (1 Corinthians 13:4)
it does not behave inappropriately, it does not seek its own way, it is not provoked, it keeps no account of wrong,  (1 Corinthians 13:5)
it does not rejoice over injustice but rejoices in the truth;  (1 Corinthians 13:6)
it bears all things, it believes all things, it hopes all things, it endures all things.  (1 Corinthians 13:7)
Love never fails—but where there are prophecies, they will pass away; where there are tongues, they will cease; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.  (1 Corinthians 13:8)
For we know in part and we prophesy in part;  (1 Corinthians 13:9)
but when that which is perfect has come, then that which is partial will pass away.  (1 Corinthians 13:10)
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put away childish things.  (1 Corinthians 13:11)
For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known.  (1 Corinthians 13:12)
But now these three remain—faith, hope, and love. And the greatest of these is love.  (1 Corinthians 13:13)

Leave a Reply

