David A Man After God’s Own Heart

I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint: my heart is like wax; it is melted in the midst of my bowels.  (Psalms 22:14)
My strength is dried up like a potsherd; and my tongue cleaveth to my jaws; and thou hast brought me into the dust of death.  (Psalms 22:15)
For dogs have compassed me: the assembly of the wicked have inclosed me: they pierced my hands and my feet.  (Psalms 22:16)
I may tell all my bones: they look and stare upon me.  (Psalms 22:17)
They part my garments among them, and cast lots upon my vesture.  (Psalms 22:18)

David truly was a man after God’s own heart as evidence by his many heartfelt and insightful, even prophetic psalms.  Such as Psalm 22 where he gives a most vivid and descriptive prophecy of Christ’s crucifixion.  David who lived hundreds of years before Christ in a time before crucifixion was used, it has never been used among the Jews and was not in practice with the rulers of the other nations of David’s time either.  So how could David so perfectly describe Jesus’ sufferings upon the wretched cross at Calvary if not by our Savior and his whispering of the horror and the hope to come.

Study the above verses, think on just how precise, how detailed they are.  Think of how beloved David must have been by God to be the bearer of such revelations.  In spite of David’s sin, cause we all know he sinned just as we all have, God saw that his repentance was true and forgave him, blessing his life and service to the Lord with beautiful, rich revelations and prophecies.  Let’s look a bit at who David was, how he served his Lord.

This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.  (Psalms 118:24)

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.  (Psalms 5:3)

He began his day in time with the Lord, looking up to heaven from whence his help and strength cometh.

Have mercy upon me, O LORD; for I am weak: O LORD, heal me; for my bones are vexed.  (Psalms 6:2)

O LORD my God, in thee do I put my trust: save me from all them that persecute me, and deliver me:  (Psalms 7:1)

And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the LORD, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee, O LORD, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.
(2 Samuel 24:10)

Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.
(Psalms 51:10)

psalm-5110

He sought the Lord in his times of need, relying on the Creator of all things to carry his precious creation through whatever struggles he might be facing.  Not only in times of need, though, but in times of weakness and sin.  He sought God’s forgiveness and renewal, he cried out to be washed clean, to have his heart and faith renewed.

When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him? For thou hast made him a little lower than the angels, and hast crowned him with glory and honour. Thou madest him to have dominion over the works of thy hands; thou hast put all things under his feet: All sheep and oxen, yea, and the beasts of the field; The fowl of the air, and the fish of the sea, and whatsoever passeth through the paths of the seas. O LORD our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth! (Psalms 8:3-9)

He praised God continually, acknowledging the glorious majesty of His might, power, and wisdom.  He wonders that God even bothers with the lowly affairs of men when He created all that is or ever will be!  He rejoices that the Lord puts man, humble man, only a little lower than angels and over all the creation of earth.  We too ought to rejoice in this and praise God for His love and mercy toward us.

But the LORD shall endure for ever: he hath prepared his throne for judgment. And he shall judge the world in righteousness, he shall minister judgment to the people in uprightness. The LORD also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble. And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee. Sing praises to the LORD, which dwelleth in Zion: declare among the people his doings.
(Psalms 9:7-11)

He looked forward to the coming Messiah, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ with excitement and longing, knowing that then and only then would true righteousness and justice be found throughout the earth.  As we saw in the opening verses David looked forward to Christ, having caught glimpses into His coming live and subsequent death on mankind’s behalf.  He also saw far into the distant future, quite possibly the future time we are now living in, to see the final coming of Christ in triumph and full glory.  When He takes His throne as the reigning King of Kings in Jerusalem during the millennial kingdom and then further still to the new Jerusalem that will come down to the new heaven and earth when we enter the final timeless age, the 8th day, at the end of the Millennial Kingdom, the 7th day or 1,000 years of rest for this beleaguered, weary and sin cursed world.

psalm-348

If you haven’t already done so join David as a follower of Christ, give your heart to the Lord and allow Him the blood shed by Him at Calvary to wash you clean as well.  He will create in you a new heart, giving you wisdom, strength, comfort, and eternal life.  Jesus loves you, just as we see He loves David, and he longs to be in relationship with you, to extend His wondrous grace and mercy towards you.  He died for you while you were yet a sinner so that one distant day you would awaken to the truth that all have sinned and come short of the glory of God, that the consequences of your sin is death, but Jesus took the sting of death upon Himself for all those who believe with their hearts and confess with their mouths that He is Lord and Savior, the only begotten Son of God.  Please, I beg you, pray the prayer you will find at the bottom of this post today.  Accept Jesus, accept love and life, accept renewal.  Become a child after God’s own heart just as David was.

And when he had removed him, he raised up unto them David to be their king; to whom also he gave testimony, and said, I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart, which shall fulfil all my will.  (Acts 13:22)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

