The Light

Our power was out for awhile last night so we brought out the old oil lamps to read by.  As I was reading I kept watching how the lamp light was so warm, inviting, comfortable.  Then I would glance over to my son who was using a battery operated lantern (preteen boys and flames inside is not good) – it gave  off a lot of light but it was a colder light, blue not yellow, it did not seem inviting at all.  It got me to thinking about light in the bible, specifically the Light! Jesus the light of the world, he’s definitely an oil lamp, warm and inviting but he has more lumens than any led or other bulb man could ever hope to make.  I decide that I would start with my favorite verse referring to Jesus as the light and trace it through the scriptures.  What I found today was powerful, I want to share it with you just as I read it.  I’m not giving commentary, just straight scripture as I traced it today.  Read it, prayerfully ponder it in your hearts, comment and let me know how God spoke to you through it.

In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.  (John 1:4-5)

And this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.  (1 John 5:11)

Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.  (John 8:12)

That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world.  (John 1:9)

As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.  (John 9:5)

And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.
(John 3:19)

Then Jesus said unto them, Yet a little while is the light with you. Walk while ye have the light, lest darkness come upon you: for he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth. While ye have light, believe in the light, that ye may be the children of light. These things spake Jesus, and departed, and did hide himself from them.
(John 12:35-36)

Give glory to the LORD your God, before he cause darkness, and before your feet stumble upon the dark mountains, and, while ye look for light, he turn it into the shadow of death, and make it gross darkness.
(Jeremiah 13:16)

For ye were sometimes darkness, but now are ye light in the Lord: walk as children of light:
(Ephesians 5:8)

Jesus answered, Are there not twelve hours in the day? If any man walk in the day, he stumbleth not, because he seeth the light of this world. But if a man walk in the night, he stumbleth, because there is no light in him.
(John 11:9-10)

He that loveth his brother abideth in the light, and there is none occasion of stumbling in him. But he that hateth his brother is in darkness, and walketh in darkness, and knoweth not whither he goeth, because that darkness hath blinded his eyes.
(1 John 2:10-11)

I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.
(John 12:46)

And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.  (John 3:19)

And this is the promise that he hath promised us, even eternal life.  (1 John 2:25)

In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him.  (1 John 4:9)

Leave a Reply

