Battle Ready!

A couple of years ago we memorized Ephesians 6 as part of my son’s bible studies.  It was hard especially by the time we got all the way into the armor of God in verses 10-20.  Since those verses were so important, so helpful in our walk with Christ, I really wanted him to remember them.  Now he is an auditory kinesthetic learner so I use music a lot in our school time. I had used songs for bible memory verses before so I started looking for one to help with this long passage. The song I found wasn’t a strict word for word one but it was well done, catchy, easy to remember and effect as a reminder. I like it as much as my kid even though it is technically a children’s song, it’s just good. Give it a listen if you want before I get into the real meat of this post, being a soldier for God, armed to the hilt.

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints; And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.  Ephesians 6:10-20

Being strong in the Lord isn’t always easy, sometimes we face challenges, scoffers, persecution that leaves us feeling weak, unsure, powerless.  At those times we need to remember these words, make them our inner battle cry as we walk courageously in faith with Christ.  When we put on His armor we can withstand anything even the rulers of the darkness of this world!  We know we will face all the things mentioned in 6:12 as followers of Christ, but we also know that our Lord and Savior is bigger than them all and He defeated them on that cross at Calvary.  We know we can stand in our darkest days, facing whatever evil the wicked try to throw our way and shoot it down, standing strong in our faith in Jesus with His word and His strength to lead us, guide us, shield us, protect us.

We know that God is mighty, wise, all powerful, the creator of all things including us and he is complete control of all things, nothing happens outside His great will.  Thus knowing we are putting on our armor, ready to take the light of Christ out into the world knowing the following:

philippians_4_13

And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.  Matthew 17:20

Luke 1&37.jpg

When we arm ourselves with God’s spiritual armor and humbly, sincerly seek His will, guidance and strength through earnest prayer and supplication then we can be assured that God will hear us in heaven and answer our requests.  Granted He doesn’t always answer the way we think he should but He’s God and he kinda knows all so we can trust that even what at the time feels like a not good thing, really is a great thing in the end.

psalm-53

Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer.  Psalms 4:1

 

psalm-5512

romans-1212

Jesus answered and said unto them, Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.  And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.  Matthew 21:21-22

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.  Philippians 4:6

romans 8&28.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

