My Lord and My God

And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God.  John 20:28

I was reading Reveling Through Revelations by J. Vernon McGee this evening and near the end of the commentary on chapter 11 he began talking about how the world will increasingly deny Christ and their need for Him as their Lord and Savior.  He ended by saying he wanted to be like Thomas saying My Lord and my God.  It stuck with me, I have read the story of doubting Thomas dozens of times but those words somehow slipped past me as I read it.  Maybe it helped seeing them out of their actual context, separated from the scene.  But for whatever reason they stood out to me tonight, got me to thinking about Jesus – my Lord and my God – and about Thomas with his skepticism and questioning.

But Thomas, one of the twelve, called Didymus, was not with them when Jesus came. The other disciples therefore said unto him, We have seen the Lord. But he said unto them, Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hand into his side, I will not believe.  John 20:24-25

See Thomas reminds me of many folks today.  He couldn’t just trust and believe through faith.  Nope, he wanted proof, hard evidence that the man his friends said was Jesus, the man before his eyes really was Jesus.

And after eight days again his disciples were within, and Thomas with them: then came Jesus, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, Peace be unto you.  John 20:26

This verse always makes me think of how it was when I was saved, how I knew He was with me that day, talking to me, right there with me when I gave my heart to Him, whispering Peace child, I am giving you peace, love, hope, eternity.  Fear not anymore, for I am with you always.  I bet Thomas felt sorta the way I did that day.

Then saith he to Thomas, Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing.  John 20:27

Ok, well maybe not quite.  Thomas meant it when he said he wanted hard proof that it was Jesus,guess it had to be real for him.  Jesus knew this and He let it get really real, maybe too real, no way, never gonna need that kinda proof. Thomas did though and Jesus understood, just like He understands us today with our doubts, confusion and fears.  I mean it’s hard to step out in faith as a believer, it’s harder still considering that the world is not exactly a walk in the park, bowl full of roses for true believers.  When you live out your faith it convicts others, it heaps those burning coals upon their heads, sets an example for them.  And the more you let Jesus into your heart and let Him change you, cleanse you the more His light shines out, pours out of you into the dark world.

And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God.  John 20:28

The world is full of Thomas’ and we are the proof of Jesus’ love to them.  We are declaring boldly just as Thomas did.  But we are also blessed, more so than Thomas who had been a disciple of Christ, one of the twelve who were closest to Him.  An eyewitness to His miracles, testimony, preaching, to Him!  Didn’t matter though, Thomas just couldn’t make that leap of faith and simply believe.  Believe as a child does that Jesus lives, loves him, and is his Lord and God.  He had to touch Him, touch the proof that He was who he said.

Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.  John 20:29

Jesus tells us through Tomas to believe, to have faith, trust, hope and believe even though we have not seen Him as Thomas did.  But the world today is full of Thomas’ demanding proof, wanting to touch His wounds to be sure He is real.  They can’t just believe in faith.  Many may even say they believe, they talk a great game, church most weeks, tell you they’re praying about it (whatever need it may be at that moment), they might even read the Bible.  But they don’t walk the walk, their lives don’t reflect what they say.  They wear Jesus on Sunday and the rest of the week they wear the world because deep down in their hearts they are Thomas, needing to touch His wounds, needing proof.

Jesus told us that this day would come, that in the later days we would see the growth of the apostate church. A church where they focus on the window dressings – the ceremony, the music, what to wear, how fancy the church building is, how much money is in the offering each week, adding more activities, more drama – while cutting out talking about sin and the need for our Savior.  It’s all about routines – planned confessions of faith complete with counseling and training class first, planned testimonies, etc. for them in some churches today.  It hardly seems to be about Jesus at all really.  Now not all churches or all believers are like this, but it is a growing concern.

Or maybe they don’t even say they believe, maybe the

y openly reject Christ as scoffers, unbelievers, as lost sheep searching desperately for the Shepherd they deny needing.  One need only look at the state of the world today to see the evidence.  Whether it is the violence in the world, the disregard for human life especially the most innocent and defenseles

s of lives, the sexual promiscuity and immorality, the lies taught our children in schools – Jesus and God are relegated to Sunday’s only the rest of the week it’s secular so called science which is more of a faith based religion than being a God fearing Christ follower is. They are banned from our schools while other religions are taught along with revisionist histories, skewed biased theories are taught as fact, liberal so called progressive ideas are taught as being the mainstream ideas our nation was founded upon.  They are deniers of Truth in every sense.

1-john-215

Jesus told us these days would come and I pray for all those who are not true believers, who are doubters like Thomas or out right deniers that they realize quickly that they are sinners, they truly are whether they realize it yet or not.  All have sinned and fallen short in God’s eyes – ALL!  We have all sinned in some way whether it is telling a lie – even a little one, committing adultery – Jesus said you didn’t have to touch to be guilty just look with the desire to do so, blaspheming – and yes that popular 3 word phrase starting with “o” is blaspheming, and that’s just three of the ten commandments.  We really are all guilty, and we are all separated from God who is just, righteous, Holy  – who can not be in the presence of sin.  We will all die because the wages or cost of sin is death.  It’s the judgement handed down since Adam in the garden that sin will bring death.  Unless a substitute is made on our behalf, a perfect lamb spotless and without blemish, sinless.  Luckily that substitution was made for us when Jesus – God’s only son – came down to earth fulfilling the prophecies of old (over 200 of them) to live a perfect life free from sin so that He could die on the cross at Calvary and then be raised form the dead three days later, conquering forever the bonds of death, setting all who believe in Him free, offering them eternal life, eternal reconciliation to God the Father in heaven.  All we have to do is ask Him into our hearts, to forgive our sins, to wash us clean, make us whole, to accept us as we are and make us new, to save us that we can spend eternity with Him.

In a growing apostate world I  want to be a voice proclaiming as Thomas did “My Lord and my God.”

Leave a Reply

