Changed

That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.  Romans 10:9

romans-109-10

 

I watched a great webinar last night that made me think a lot.  It was on the Resurrection, which they referred to as the greatest event in history.  I think that line was my favorite of the entire talk.  It was and is the greatest event ever and I base my eternal salvation and life on that fact.  I talk a lot on here about salvation and the need for repentance which is very important, but I pray that I also point all who visit to the truth of this one momentous event, so revolutionary and incredible it changed the entire world.  It is still impacting and changing lives today.  Think about that, no other event in history has had that kind of influence thousands of years later.  The Fall and the Flood still affect us, we still see and feel the effects of them but they don’t directly impact and change us today.  We just have to live with the scars of them.  But Jesus is changing lives daily.  I know because he changed mine.

romans-122-butterfly

When I accepted Him into my heart, repented and was baptized I was changed, made new.  I wasn’t as selfish anymore, thought more of others than myself, had more patience, loved deeper, stronger.  That’s probably the biggest immediate change I had – my capacity to really love others.  For the first time I really began to understand my husband and see hi through God’s eyes.  At that time he wasn’t a believer, it took him another 5 years to come to Christ, but I knew that God had brought us together and that he was a good man who would eventually see the truth.  My relationship with my son also improved, I began to see that what I had always viewed as weaknesses and flaws in him were actually strengths that God will use at the right time.  I also finally accepted the call to bring him home and homeschool which had been on my heart since his birth but I had allowed others to lead me astray on it.  We grew closer as a family because I was able to see them as Jesus did.  Last year both of them came to Christ also.

romans-121-2

I began to serve more, pray more, trust more, love more.  Not just at home either but with friends and family, strangers.   I saw the world as God sees it, saw people differently.  I had the voice to speak to strangers even just a simple hi at first, now I openly proclaim my faith to some, not all mind you – but when God lays it on my heart, He puts the words in my mouth.   It’s amazing the effect a simple “Smile Jesus loves you.” or “I’ll pray for you” can have on say a tired cashier at the store, or just another shopper having a bad day. God has opened my eyes to see others needs and equipped me to meet them.   That’s a change for sure.

Matthew-28-6.jpg

I plan to do an in depth study on the Resurrection in the next few weeks and I will be talking more about the greatest event in history.  But before that I would love to hear some of your stories on how that event is impacting and changing your life today!  When you confessed Jesus with your mouth and believed in your heart that God raised Him from the dead how did Jesus begin to work in your life?  What has changed?  Share your stories in the comments below.

psalm-5110

 

Save

Leave a Reply

