Let The Little Children Come Unto Me

I think this passage is one of the sweetest in the Gospels.  I picture the little ones all gathered around the Lord, eyes shining with love, with hope, with trust as He tells them all about his creation, his love for them, his Father in heaven, all the while healing imperfect tiny bodies, giving them a brighter future in so many ways as they learn of the kingdom of God.  I hear the giggles as he tells of the garden, of course including all the sounds of the animals he created.  I see little arms around his neck in big hugs as he sends each one rushing back into their earthly parents arms healed and bubbling over with stories about Jesus.

luke-1816

 

It’s that image I carry in my head every week as I teach the toddler room at a local large church.  I disagree with many of the churches practices, they stray from the scriptures in many ways, embracing apostate and worldly ideas, I hear more of the world than the Word in the teachings there.   That troubles me and puts me in a very unique position – I worry for those who attend as many of them are friends I care deeply about and all are my brothers and sisters in Christ.  It also affords me an opportunity as a teacher of some of the youngest children to begin to teach them in a real way the truth of Jesus’ love for them.  I start at the beginning with the Word creating the world and work through to the beginnings of the Church, all the while keeping Jesus as the center of it all, hopefully leading their little hearts to Him as he said to do in the passage below from Mark.

And they brought young children to him, that he should touch them: and his disciples rebuked those that brought them.  Mark 10:13
But when Jesus saw it, he was much displeased, and said unto them, Suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.  Mark 10:14
Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein.  Mark 10:15
And he took them up in his arms, put his hands upon them, and blessed them.  Mark 10:16

mark-1014

Let us all let the little children come to Jesus, leading by our example and through the teaching of His word.  We can plant seeds in those small hearts that can become the most fruitful of trees in a few years, fruit for the kingdom of God.  When we “let the little children come to Me” as Jesus says we are changing the world, growing the kingdom.

Leave a Reply

