No Turning Back 2

no-turning-back

Last night I shared the video for the song “NO Turning Back”.  Every time I listen to it I am reminded of Romans 8:35-39 about how as followers of Christ we will suffer persecution and tribulations but that no matter how much the Satan and the world try to tear us from our Savior they are going to fail!  Scripture is explicitly clear that nothing can separate us from our Lord, once we are washed in the blood we are saved!  Forever.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?  As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,
Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 8:35-39

Now I do mean here truly washed in the blood, truly believing with our hearts, minds and souls that Jesus is the only Son of God, who died on the cross for the remission of our sins and rose the third day from the tomb as the first fruits of the resurrection our example of hope and are baptized and publicly declare our faith in Him then we are eternally saved.  When we do these things then we are changed, made new.  We have a new hope and life in Jesus and through that we die to our sins.  We don’t want to sin anymore,  we no longer desire those vises that were imprisoning us before we accepted Jesus and asked him in to our hearts.  Now I’m not saying we don’t stumble or even fall at times, sometimes we do.  I have slipped out a few cuss words when in tense moments, but I don’t make a habit of it, it’s happened a few times in the 7 years I have been saved and you know the closer I walk with my Lord the less it happens.  Stumbling can’t separate us from our Salvation when we truly follow Christ loving him with all our hearts.

Think of the joy of that, no matter what we may face as believers, Jesus has us in his hands and he is never going to let us go.  That’s how much he loves us.  That’s our hope, or security.  That is also why we are able to follow our Savior with no turning back even unto death.  We will face persecution as believers on both a large scale, just look at the anger and hate directed at believers in the world today.  We are called vile names, told we are less valuable as humans, ought to die, some of us even have died for the name of Jesus.  Or on a small scale within our personal realm of family, friends, and acquaintances.  For instance I have experienced certain people in my life who have rejected my choice to live my life for the Lord.  It was hard at first to realize that I had to distance myself from them, they were having a negative influence on our son to the point he would cry and beg not to have to see them, which made me realize I felt the same way around them.  As if I were literally fighting for my life the entire time, constantly having to defend my faith and subsequent calling as a follower of Christ.  When faced with highly toxic, psychological attacks like we faced I would remember certain verses to help me stand my ground.  I am sharing a few below to help you in your walk with our sweet Savior below.

armorofgod

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places. Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints; And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.  Ephesians 6:10-20

But thou hast fully known my doctrine, manner of life, purpose, faith, longsuffering, charity, patience, Persecutions, afflictions, which came unto me at Antioch, at Iconium, at Lystra; what persecutions I endured: but out of them all the Lord delivered me. Yea, and all that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution.  2 Timothy 3:10-12

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. I and my Father are one.  John 10:27-30

I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine. And all mine are thine, and thine are mine; and I am glorified in them. And now I am no more in the world, but these are in the world, and I come to thee. Holy Father, keep through thine own name those whom thou hast given me, that they may be one, as we are. While I was with them in the world, I kept them in thy name: those that thou gavest me I have kept, …  John 17:9-12

Take heart brothers and sisters as you too face persecution and tribulations in this world, for Jesus has overcome the world!  We have the promise of eternal life with our Savior, such a blessed hope!  Why would we ever even consider any other option other than that of no turning back!

john-1633

Leave a Reply

