A Rescued Sinner

This evening we watched The Passion of the Christ again, and as always I spent pretty much the entire movie weeping uncontrollably, praying fervently, apologizing for my sins and praising Jesus for what he did.  It always reminds me that it was me that scourged, beat, tortured and ultimately drove the nails into my Savior, for I know he died for me, for my sins.  I was a thief just like the one who hung beside the Son of God, an adulterer – after all Jesus said that if we even look at another person with lust then we have already committed adultery with them in our hearts, a liar, covetous, I was a filthy dirty, broken sinner.  Because of that cross and Jesus laying down his life, accepting the just punishment for my sins, then I am free today, I am alive, filled with hope and joy over the unending, relentless love Jesus has for me.  That movie always brings that home for me in such a real way, I cry in shame and deep pain knowing my role in the death of my Savior but then my tears turn to tears of pure joy as the stone is rolled away and my Lord and King rises and walks out of that tomb!  Alive, he’s alive!  It’s a roller coaster of emotions for me but also a very real, stark reminder of who I once was and who I am now through Christ.  Because He loved me and wouldn’t give up on me I am changed, made new.  I’m not that thieving, cheating, liar any longer, instead I am a daughter of the one true King; his servant here on earth and one day I will reside with Him in heaven.  How I long for that day, when I finally go to my eternal home and can thank my blessed Savior face to face!  Thank him for changing me, leading me, guiding me, saving me!

kneeling

 

You know something though.  It wasn’t just me that scourged Jesus, that nailed him to that cross.  No, it was you too.  See we have all sinned, every single person who has ever lived or will ever live is a sinner, dirty, filthy, broken.  Every one.  So we all put him on that cross, we all crucified the Savior of the world!  That’s the bad news, we’re all guilty.  But there’s good news, glorious news, news to rejoice and shout with joy over, to share with the world.  We are all guilty but we won’t all have to pay the price of our guilt, for Jesus already did that for us 2,000 years ago!  He died because he loves you, he paid the debt for your sin to free you to live your lives for him.  Let that sink into your heart.  You have hope, beautiful wonderful hope.  Hope of freedom from the pain and death of sin, hope of living the life God created you for, hope of eternity in heaven with the God who created you, who died for you!  Hope, and change.  Not only do you have that hope but you will be changed, cleaned of your sins, made new.  I can assure you this that when you accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior, let him come into your heart and work on it and through it, then you will be a changed person.  That old sinful nature dies, it will fade away because you will have a new purpose, a heavenly goal unlike any you have known before.

psalm-5110

Jesus not only saved me from my sins but he cleansed me of them, I’m not who I once was, I don’t do the things I once did, don’t even want to.  Instead I am filled with the love of Jesus, I see my life through his eyes.  I am able to love wholly, completely serving rather than expecting to be served, giving of myself to serve those I love most here on earth and to strangers I may never meet again.  Before it was all about me, not about showing the world the light that burns inside me, the Light of the World, the light of love, Jesus!  If you don’t already have that Light in your life I urge you to consider allowing it in today.  Time is short, my friends, we know not what tomorrow may bring, you do not want to put the most important decision you will ever make off too long.  This is an eternal decision, once you die there is no way to change your mind so please choose life, love, hope today.  Accept Jesus as your Lord your Savior, your King.  Let His light come into your heart. I lay it all out for your below, why you need Him, what He did for you, how to accept Him, and what to do once you have.

john-316-nativity
“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.  John 3:16

God loves us all, we are all His creations, made in his image!  All of us, not just some of us!  And he sent his only Son to be the atonement for our sins as we see here in Romans 5:8:

romans-58

but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:8

While we were still sinners Christ died for us.  That’s why I said we held the nails, beat him with the whips, tore his flesh, crucified him!  We are all sinners guilty before God of not obeying his commandments.
Roamns 3&23.jpg

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,  Romans 3:23

This verse tells us that all people have sinned. We have fallen short of
God’s intended purpose for us. God made us to know Him…. to receive His
love and to love him in return.

For love to be love… for God to be God… and for humans to be humans….
God gave us a choice. We can choose to love ourselves and turn to our
selfish pursuits. That is sin. In our sin we cannot know God and His love.
The result of sin is that we are lost… separated from God.

Roamns 6&23.png

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 6:23


Wages are just payment… due reward… what one has coming because of
labor. God is holy, pure, perfect.  We are not, man is sinful, imperfect, unholy.  That sin keeps us separated from God, for holy can’t be with unholy.  Therefore the just payment for our sin is death.

Death here means spiritual insensitivity. When we are still in our sin, we
have no life with God. We are alive physically but dead spiritually. If we
continue in that condition, we will be separated from God for all eternity.

The wages of sin is death. but God’s free gift is eternal life. While wages
are earned, a gift is offered… no strings attached. God says He will give us
eternal life – life with Him – in the place of sin’s payment of death.

How can God remain true to His holiness and forgive unholy sinners?
Because Jesus, His Son, has paid the price for sin by His death on the cross.

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.  2 Corinthians 5:21

Corinthians 5&21.jpg

Think of it, Jesus arose from the grave to conquer sin and death for all who receive Him
as God’s free gift.  He is alive and he wants you!  He longs to be in relationship with you, to cleanse you, make you new, and spend eternity with you!

How can you receive God’s free gift of love and life?

romans-109-10

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.  For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved.  Romans 10:9-10

Believe in your heart, that is the simplest and the hardest thing you will ever do.  To simply trust God, take him at his word, knowing with all your heart that Jesus is God’s Son who died for our sin
on the cross and arose from the grave to live in us as Savior and Lord.

Believing in Jesus will result in confessing that faith with one’s mouth.

Do you acknowledge that your are a sinner?

Do you believe by faith that Jesus, God’s Son, died for your sin on the cross?

Will you now confess Him as your Savior and Lord?

For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”  Romans 10:13

romans-1013

This verse says that everyone who calls upon the name of Jesus,
the Lord, shall be saved.  That really means everyone, that means me and you.

To call means simply to ask in prayer. The verse does not require one to
know more… do better… clean up one’s life… or in any way try to add to
what Jesus has done for us. Just admit your a sinner and ask Jesus into your life, accept him in your heart – he’ll do the rest.

Will you now call upon Jesus to save you from your sin so that you 
can know God’s love and forgiveness?

sinners-prayer-2

Leave a Reply

