The Lord Is Good

My Psalm  reading today contained the following beautiful, comforting verse.

O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.  Psalms 34:8

The Lord is good, so very good!  He is good to have created the earth for us, he is good to have made it all just exactly perfect for us to live on this big floating ball.  Think about that for a second – we live on a giant ball floating in space, floating as in standing on nothing.  Praise God he is driving this think , otherwise, well it’s best not to think of that.  Earth is just there in a whole lot of nothing till the moon or nearest planets, none of which have anything living on them so they are just big giant rock or gas balls.  Earth is totally and gloriously unique.  It shouldn’t have water; but it does thank the Lord cause we need wouldn’t be here without it.  If it were just one tiny degree nearer the sun we’d all fry, one degree farther from it it’s popsicle city.  Think of how precise God was when he hung the earth from nothing in the perfect spot.  If he orchestrated all this then I have no trouble whatsoever trusting him with my life, he’s got this.

I am so thankful he does too because if I were on my own to manage my life, well I was for years before I knew my sweet Lord and it was the scariest, most messed up times.  I am heartbroken anew when I think of how many times I almost threw it all away.  Thank God I woke up in time, thank God I found him before it was too late.  I’m not saying my life is perfect now, far from it.  I still try to take the reigns far too often still get in occasional messes, but I’m getting better at letting God lead me.  About submitting to his will and seeing true blessings.  Sometimes it’s hard because I can’t always see right off what the plan is but patience is a virtue and I am learning more each day to wait when he says to, to act when he says to, and  to just listen when he says to.

I have a few verses that help me to wait on the Lord, to taste and see that He is good.  One of course is the verse above from Psalms.  Here are a few others to encourage you all as you also taste and see that the Lord is good, very good.

psalms182

As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby: If so be ye have tasted that the Lord is gracious.  1 Peter 2:2-3

james 4&7

Kiss the Son, lest he be angry, and ye perish from the way, when his wrath is kindled but a little. Blessed are all they that put their trust in him.  Psalms 2:12

 

Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.  Psalms 32:1For the Son of man is come to save that which was lost.  Matthew 18:11

psalm-25-vs-4-5

 

The LORD said unto my Lord, Sit thou at my right hand, until I make thine enemies thy footstool.  Psalms 110:1

proverbs-17

Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth.  Mark 9:23

micah-7-7-8

And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.  Luke 2:9-10

isaiah-535-3

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  2 Corinthians 12:9

psalm-58

 

 

Leave a Reply

