Repent!

“Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”  Matthew 3:2

Repent, that one word used to  upset me back before I really understood it.  I never really understood why I needed to.  I mean after all I was a pretty good person, lived a decent life being a wife and momma.  Isn’t that what I was supposed to do?  Turns out not exactly because no matter how good I try to be, it’s never gonna be good enough to God.  See, sin is so pervasive in the world that all are guilty of it, all have sinned.  I know I did I lied, cheated, and stole according to God’s laws.  When I realized that God was real and I had broken His laws and was guilty that terrified me.  Not the kinda terrified I had spent most of my life being, frightened of the darkness that seemed to follow me, that tormented me in my dreams and haunted my days.  I have since discovered I was a victim of spiritual warfare before I even knew what that was, from childhood on those who should have been leading me to God were vying to turn my soul to the darkness of this world.  I now understand certain books on my parent’s bookshelf and why we never had a Bible in our home and why my family never went to Church.  But then I didn’t understand I just knew that I my eyes had been opened and I saw who I really was, what I was guilty of and I had to make things right with God.  I finally understood that Jesus had paid my debt, I could be free, truly free! I can’t describe the peace that entered my heart that day, for the first time in my life I experienced true peace, true freedom.  It was glorious!  from that day 7 years ago till now it has never left me.  I repented that day, gave my heart to Jesus and asked him to come into my life, cleanse me, make me new and he did!  Praise God he did!  Those forces I felt trying to drag me into the pits of hell for 33 years they don’t bother me no more.  They know I got Jesus and they don’t have any power over me any more.  I just tell that old devil that I am a daughter of the One True King, rebuke him in the name of Jesus and say to get thee behind me Satan! Well, ole Slew Foot he ain’t got no choice but to do it because he knows who the real Lord is.

I know I talk about salvation a lot on here, but I care about you all and I want you to be partakers in the hope, peace, and love I now have..  I share God’s wish that none should perish but all should come to the saving knowledge of Christ before it is eternally too late.  That knowledge doesn’t just mean who Jesus was or that he existed, no it’s much more than that.  It means that yes, but it means much more.  It means knowing in your heart and soul why He came, why He died, and what happened after that!  It’s understanding that he is God who came to earth as the Son of man (born of a virgin) to live a perfect, sinless life so that he could be a sacrifice without spot or blemish for the remittance of sins once and for all, offering grace freely to all who believe in him and what he did, repent of their sins, and ask our sweet Lord into their hearts.  It’s so simple but so hard.  See, when you realize that you are a sinner and need Jesus, are lost for eternity without him, then it hits you that he died for you.  It was your sins that nailed him to that cross.  Your sins that killed the Son of God!  When that hits you it drives you to your knees, you see yourself as God did and you know, without any doubt that YOU can’t save yourself.  You know that your only hope is that spotless lamb, Jesus, that lamb you help slay, who willing died for you.  But why you think would he do that?  Because God loves you and it grieves his heart that you might die in your sins, living a life that denies him, rejects the love he has for you, breaks his laws, mocks his Truth.  So he provided a way to set things right, make them new.  From the very beginning of creation God had the glorious plan of salvation in place.  His first act in creating was to say “Let there be Light!”  That Light was the Light snuffed out on the cross. There’s good news though, the story doesn’t end at that cross, no not by a long shot.  Cause on the third day something happened, something wonderful!  See that day Jesus rose from the tomb they had laid him in three days and 3 nights before.  The stone was rolled back, the grave was empty and praise the Lord He was alive!  Alive!  That’s our hope, that by believing truly that Jesus rose after setting us right with God we have the promise that on day we too shall live forever with our precious Savior in eternity with God!  That’s a promise, that’s hope, that’s freedom, that’s true life!  All because of that one little word – repent.

One thought on “Repent!

  1. Steve Finnell says:

    DENOMINATIONAL VIEW OF THE BIBLE BY STEVE FINNELL
    Mormons view of the Bible
    According to the 8th Article of Faith, Mormons “believe the Bible to be the word of God as far as it is translated correctly.” The Bible is considered as a correct book, but contains passages either translated incorrectly and/or interpreted incorrectly, and is also missing passages. The most important aid to Latter-Day Saints when reading the Bible, and any other Scriptures is the guidance of the Holy Ghost.

    REF: http://www.mormonwiki.com/The_Bible

    Mormons are honest enough to admit they believe the Bible as long as it does not conflict with Mormon doctrine.

    Most denomination believe the Bible is true as long as it is not contrary to the doctrine found in their creed books. The difference is they are not honest enough to admit their man-made creeds supersede the Bible.

    Baptist/Calvinists do not believe, (Acts 2:38 Then Peter said to them, “Repent, and let every one of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. (NKJV)

    Baptist/Calvinist believe, Acts 2:38 should have been written “…..Repent, and be baptized because you sins have already been forgiven. And you received salvation and the Holy Spirit the minute you believed.”

    Baptist/Calvinists do not believe, (1Timothy 4:1 Now the Spirit expressly says that in latter times some will depart from the faith, giving heed to deceiving spirits and doctrine of demons.(NKJV)

    Baptists/Calvinists believe that, 1Timothy 4:1 should have been translated,”..Now the Spirit says once you are saved you cannot depart from the faith. And if you do depart you were never saved in the first place.”

    Denominations such as Roman Catholics, Lutherans, Methodist, Quakers etc. all believe that creed books and other records of church doctrine void the Bible if it contradicts denominational doctrine.

    YOU ARE INVITED TO READ MY BLOG>> steve-finnell.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

