Are You A Sheep?

Last night I shared Matthew 25:31-46 with you and talked about the goats, those who ultimately will be separated from God for all eternity when they are cast into the lake of fire on judgement day.  We were all goats at some point in our lives, all headed at break neck speed towards that fiery lake, that’s just reality.  We have all sinned against God, broken his laws, we’re goats.  But there’s good news; we don’t have to stay goats.  See when we accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior we are changed, cleansed of our sins and made a new creature.  We become the sheep and we will follow our Good Shepherd!  So let’s revisit that sermon in Matthew and look again at what marks us as the Shepherd’s sheep.

the sheep and the goat

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne.  Matthew 25:31
Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats.  Matthew 25:32
And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left.  Matthew 25:33 Notice that as sheep we are placed at Jesus’ right hand; just as He is at the Father’s.
Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.  Matthew 25:34

towards-the-cross

We are called blessed by God and told to come inherit the kingdom prepared for us from the foundation of the world.  What joy, what grace that we are called blessed and will inherit the blessing God has prepared for us.

 

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me,  Matthew 25:35
I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’  Matthew 25:36

 

Ah, now we’re getting to the meat of what makes us qualify as the Shepherd’s sheep.  We serve Him, just as he served God.

Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink?  Matthew 25:37
And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you?  Matthew 25:38
And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’  Matthew 25:39

Even though we are sheep we are not proud, boastful, braggarts; always extolling loudly the great good we do.  Quite the contrary we feel our service was never quite enough, we don’t recognize all that we do, we ask humbly, Lord when did we serve you in these ways?

Matthew 25 40

And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’  Matthew 25:40

matthew-25-40

Because we are his our hearts are filled with his love, his mercy, his grace and that is reflected in our works in this world.  Jesus loves each of us, every single soul on this earth and when we show his love, grace an mercy to others we are showing it to him.  We are His light going out to the world, to the souls he formed and loves, to sinners just like we once were, to fellow brothers and sisters in need, to the littlest souls so fresh from the Master’s hand.  That’s the Shepherd in us!

But for those who don’t have the shepherd, who never knew him, or who left the flock for the world there are no pleasant rewards, no blessings only bitter curses.  Eternal torment.  Pray for the goats that they may become sheep before it is eternally too late.  We have time right now, God is tarrying on that mercy seat for it is not his will that any should be lost but that all would come to the saving knowledge of Christ before it is eternally too late.  Don’t let the next part of this story be your fate on judgement day, seek the Savior, join the flock, become a sheep!

“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.  Matthew 25:41

lake_of_fire
For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,  Matthew 25:42
I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’  Matthew 25:43
Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’  Matthew 25:44
Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’  Matthew 25:45

Matthew 25 40
And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”  Matthew 25:46

Don’t be a

goat on left

Leave a Reply

