Teach Them!

You all know that we have chosen to homeschool our son, that we are obedient to the call the Lord put on our lives, and that we wouldn’t have it any other way.  It’s hard sometimes, most of our family is very critical of our decision, some out right defy and oppose us.  But our decision has nothing to do with them and everything to do with equipping our son to live the life God has planned for him.  We believe we are all created for a reason, with a path to walk and fulfill, the goal of education to is to assist us by equipping us with the knowledge needed to do so.  That includes biblical and scholarly knowledge.  I have never tried to hide or down play our purpose and goals, nor do I hide or downplay the role God has in my life.  He is everything, without him I would be lost, have nothing, be nothing.  He comes first and humble, complete obedience to his is the only way I can thank him for all that he has done for me.  I end my prayers with here’s my heart Lord, speak what is true, empty me of me and fill me with you – I want to be his servant doing his will in this world.  That was what I was made for, it is what my son was made for as well and I pray it for him and my husband also.  It is why we homeschool.

psalm-784

When serving God is our goal then we look at life differently – we see the world through truth, we see it through God’s eyes in a sense.  We see all that he created and how amazing it is, even in it’s fallen state.  Just look at the complexities of a flower, an eye, or a cell!  It’s awe inspiring!  When we read his word we see that that brilliant mind gave us a guidebook, a map if you will.  There are incredible stories of our ancient history contained in it’s pages, rules on how to life our lives to be the best we can be, and the gospel of our precious Savior.  Tonight I want to talk a bit about those rules.  See we take them seriously, God doesn’t make idle commands – no he is very serious for good reason.  Those commandments he makes are meant for our good – the Big Ten I call them, ten rules for life.  Because they are God given, Jesus affirmed and just make perfect sense we teach them to our son.  Actually we are called to teach them to him as you will see in tonight’s reading.

Now these are the commandments, the statutes, and the judgments, which the LORD your God commanded to teach you, that ye might do them in the land whither ye go to possess it:  Deuteronomy 6:1
That thou mightest fear the LORD thy God, to keep all his statutes and his commandments, which I command thee, thou, and thy son, and thy son’s son, all the days of thy life; and that thy days may be prolonged.  Deuteronomy 6:2

Hold Hands

Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD:  Deuteronomy 6:4
And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.  Deuteronomy 6:5
And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart:  Deuteronomy 6:6
And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.  Deuteronomy 6:7
Therefore shall ye lay up these my words in your heart and in your soul, and bind them for a sign upon your hand, that they may be as frontlets between your eyes.  Deuteronomy 11:18
And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.  Deuteronomy 11:19

duet-6-67

For if ye shall diligently keep all these commandments which I command you, to do them, to love the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, and to cleave unto him;  Deuteronomy 11:22

proverbs-784

 

Teach them to your children, always.  That’s a command I don’t want to disobey!

2 thoughts on “Teach Them!

Leave a Reply

