Christ, the Son of the God

Sabbath ended a few hours ago at sundown, what a blessing the day of rest was.

genesis-23

We spent much of it outdoors enjoying the beauty of the spring world God created that was all around us.  We picnicked in a local park for lunch and I read further in The Case for a Creator – not that I need convincing obviously, since I am a rock solid creationist, I believe God word literally when that makes perfect sense as it does in Genesis.  I do find the scientific revealing of God fascinating though and knowing the facts that support the Truth helps me share my faith with those who have been taught and believe the lies of evolution and naturalistic theories, which is most people who attended any sort of public school in the last 70 years.

 

Upon returning home we found we had a visitor in the form of a sweet stray dog whom we took to calling Bud and he took to following my son around as if he had found his master.  It was strange really, we had gone down by the creek to do Bible study and read a couple chapters of the novel we are currently reading aloud, A Day No Pigs Would Die, and this dog follows us down and lays down near us listening intently as I read the Book of Jude and we discuss it – fascinating book really, I will do a post on it soon.  He followed kiddo around every time he got up and somewhere along the line I glanced over at the little feller, who really appears to be quite aged, and said “Ya tired, Bud?”  He immediately rose up and walked over laying his head in my lap.  Well, that’s all it took, he has a food dish on the back deck next to our other dog’s who took to him also.  Which is a first usually she is very jealous if we are friendly with other dogs or attempt to feed them, growling and even snapping at them but she even gave him the bigger bowl of food and laid down right with him.  I truly believe God has sent him to us for some reason, and I am grateful for the blessing.

Sometimes God blesses us in such unexpected ways, knowing what we need before we do.  Sending a dog to a boy who was secretly longing for another one, a free drink on the way to provide child care for the church circle meeting the other night, uprooting us from the home we thought was right and planting us where he wanted us – the home we belong in, our dream homestead where our family has grown in the Lord, drawing ever nearer to our precious Savior.  It was right here in our own creek that both my husband and son were baptized last fall.  It just amazes me how he called us home and has blessed us since doing so.  The greatest blessing for me by far (aside from both my guys giving their hearts to Jesus since we moved here) is how I feel so much closer to God here.  I know I was a fairly new Christian when we moved here and I thought I was on fire for God then but I am telling you that I didn’t know then what that meant.  The church I work at and used to attend wasn’t feeding me scripturally, therefore I wasn’t growing as I should spiritually.  My husband and I used to drive out this road we now live on all the time back when we were dating and I always loved this little ole tiny country church on it.  That very church happens to be visible from our front porch and praise God one of the gentleman that has attended there most of his 40 some years as a follower of Christ stopped by to invite us to attend services, because we found our church home there.  A church that feeds us scripturally preaching and teaching straight from the bible.  The big church as I call the one we work at is formal, ritualistic, rigid, and God’s not really there much.  He was the day I answered his call on my life, I think that was the first and last time in a very long time, but at our little church every time I am there I feel his presence.  He is right there in the room with us, blessings abound, hearts are nourished and souls saved.   Handshakes and hugs welcome everyone who enters the doors, prayers are asked by any and all needing them, God is praised loud and clear with testimonies abounding (no one has ever stood up to give a testimony or praise at the big church let me tell ya, no sir, it’s never even mentioned), happy hearts make a joyful noise to our Lord often it’s so joyful you can hear it a quarter mile away, and all who enter that tiny little church that has stood for over a hundred years now feel the power and spirit of God, all could answer the question our Lord asked his disciples so long ago without a moments hesitation because he is right there with us when we gather there.  We invite him in and welcome him with open hearts and rejoicing souls as we call out as Peter did “You are Jesus Christ, the Son of God!”  We take our crosses and follow him just as the disciples did as we prepare to walk out the doors, back to our homes, jobs, lives; renewed refreshed and restored in our walk, the Lord strong in our hearts and ready to boldly proclaim to all who will listen that glorious answer, Christ the Son of God!

Christ Son of God

And it came to pass, as he was alone praying, his disciples were with him: and he asked them, saying, Whom say the people that I am?  Luke 9:18

When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am?  Matthew 16:13

And Jesus went out, and his disciples, into the towns of Caesarea Philippi: and by the way he asked his disciples, saying unto them, Whom do men say that I am?  Mark 8:27

They answering said, John the Baptist; but some say, Elias; and others say, that one of the old prophets is risen again.  Luke 9:19

Now Herod the tetrarch heard of all that was done by him: and he was perplexed, because that it was said of some, that John was risen from the dead; And of some, that Elias had appeared; and of others, that one of the old prophets was risen again.
Luke 9:7-8

And said unto his servants, This is John the Baptist; he is risen from the dead; and therefore mighty works do shew forth themselves in him.  Matthew 14:2

He said unto them, But whom say ye that I am? Peter answering said, The Christ of God.  Luke 9:20

matthew_16_16.png

And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.  John 6:69

It wasn’t just the disciples who recognized who Jesus was though, no, many people did jews, gentiles, even demons.  God even declared from heaven who he was.

And devils also came out of many, crying out, and saying, Thou art Christ the Son of God. And he rebuking them suffered them not to speak: for they knew that he was Christ.  Luke 4:41

She saith unto him, Yea, Lord: I believe that thou art the Christ, the Son of God, which should come into the world.  John 11:27

But these are written, that ye might believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God; and that believing ye might have life through his name.  John 20:31

And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.  Acts 8:37

Matthew3_17

And he straitly charged them, and commanded them to tell no man that thing;  Luke 9:21

Then charged he his disciples that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ.  Matthew 16:20

Saying, The Son of man must suffer many things, and be rejected of the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be slain, and be raised the third day.  Luke 9:22

From that time forth began Jesus to shew unto his disciples, how that he must go unto Jerusalem, and suffer many things of the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be killed, and be raised again the third day.  Matthew 16:21

And while they abode in Galilee, Jesus said unto them, The Son of man shall be betrayed into the hands of men: And they shall kill him, and the third day he shall be raised again. And they were exceeding sorry.
Matthew 17:22-23

crucifixion
And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.  Luke 9:23

And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.  Matthew 10:38

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.  Matthew 16:24

And when he had called the people unto him with his disciples also, he said unto them, Whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.  Mark 8:34

And whosoever doth not bear his cross, and come after me, cannot be my disciple.  Luke 14:27


For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.  For what is a man advantaged, if he gain the whole world, and lose himself, or be cast away?  Luke 9:24-25

For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?  Matthew 16:26

Mark 8-36

For whosoever shall be ashamed of me and of my words, of him shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he shall come in his own glory, and in his Father’s, and of the holy angels.  Luke 9:26

But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.  Matthew 10:33

Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation; of him also shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he cometh in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.  Mark 8:38

If we suffer, we shall also reign with him: if we deny him, he also will deny us:  2 Timothy 2:12

whosoever-shall-be-ashamed

But I tell you of a truth, there be some standing here, which shall not taste of death, till they see the kingdom of God.  Luke 9:27

Verily I say unto you, There be some standing here, which shall not taste of death, till they see the Son of man coming in his kingdom.  Matthew 16:28

And he said unto them, Verily I say unto you, That there be some of them that stand here, which shall not taste of death, till they have seen the kingdom of God come with power.  Mark 9:1


And it came to pass, that, as they went in the way, a certain man said unto him, Lord, I will follow thee whithersoever thou goest.  Luke 9:57

And a certain scribe came, and said unto him, Master, I will follow thee whithersoever thou goest.  Matthew 8:19

And Jesus said unto him, Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay his head.  And he said unto another, Follow me. But he said, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father.  Luke 9:58-59

And another of his disciples said unto him, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father.  Matthew 8:21

Jesus said unto him, Let the dead bury their dead: but go thou and preach the kingdom of God.  And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house.  Luke 9:60-61

And he left the oxen, and ran after Elijah, and said, Let me, I pray thee, kiss my father and my mother, and then I will follow thee. And he said unto him, Go back again: for what have I done to thee?  1 Kings 19:20

And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.  Luke 9:62

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.  Galatians 2:20

Leave a Reply

