Cult Of Self

You all know that I believe we are in the last days, that soon the Lord will be coming back to for His church, His body, that means I spend a lot of time studying the end times prophecies and watching for the fulfillment of the signs we are called to watch for.  Tonight I was given a new perspective on a verse I have often studied.  I was watching a video talking about the social media, cell phone, selfie obsession running rampant in society today.  It is crazy, really.

dog selfie.jpg

Every where I go people either have their faces in their phones waiting for likes, scrolling endless newsfeeds, or posing for another selfie to share.  They are more concerned with being in cyber world than the real world and most seem to think that both worlds revolve around them.  I see people shopping that are too busy snapping pics of their hauls to even say hello to their cashiers, or driving and taking selfies at the same time, and being too busy scrolling their feeds in public to even look where they are walking, driving, etc, spending the entire sermon during church texting, scrolling, or you guessed it, taking selfies.  It’s not healthy, rational or safe and they certainly are missing out on real life and growing closer to the Lord in the last case, when they are continually attached to their devices, which my husband refers to as vices.  But it is the world we live in.  And I believe that Paul foretold us of it nearly 2,000 years ago.  So, rant over, let me get on with what I mean here.

But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people.  2 Timothy 3:1-5

I will go ahead and say up front that if I step on some toes with this, I am not sorry, this needs to be said and understood before true freedom from these addictions through Jesus can be achieved.

signs of end.jpg

In the last days there will come times of difficulty, yea you could say that.  Life is difficult, Christians are persecuted, nations are in turmoil, natural disasters have increased ten fold, terrorists groups like ISIS are growing in boldness and strength each day, people are starving, plagues are running rampant in many areas, need me to go on.  Times are bad, and they are going to get a whole lot worse according to scripture.  I believe we are still in the birth pangs stage and that means this is nothing compared to what’s coming.  I have said before that I believe in a pre-trib rapture or departing of the church but I am fully prepared to face the coming tribulation if my interpretation is wrong.  I am human and am not perfect so I could be mistaken and if I am then my faith will not be shaken, instead I am prepared to die for my faith if it comes to it, although if this is the scenario I will try to survive the 7 years of tribulation to see Jesus coming in triumph and glory at the end.  Ok, sorry got off track there, back to 1 Timothy.  Paul says that in the last days will come times of difficulty, then he begins to enumerate why this will happen.

For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power.

daniel-124

Wow,  he couldn’t have described today’s society better.  People are obviously lovers of self – Facebook, Instagram, and selfies attest to that.  Along with that love of self comes pride and arrogance, conceit, etc.  And you’d think it was just the youngest generations but it isn’t, nope, it’s all generations.  At any given time I am as likely to see a teen, a young mom, a middle aged person and an older lady all taking selfies or scrolling at church.  Everyone has a phone in their hand all the time.  It has become an idol.  And it isn’t just older kids and adults.  Oh no!  A couple weeks ago I worked the nursery at the big church for a women’s circle meeting one evening.  I only had three kiddos so I spent the evening making some observations on the differences between them.  They were aged 4, 5, and 7 with the younger two being girls.  The younger girl and the boy are siblings and all three were pastors kids, actually both the 5 year girls parents are pastors.  Imagine my shock when said 5 year old whips out a toy cell phone and begins taking selfies that looked more like 25 than 5, “talking” to her boyfriends, Facebooking, etc.  She looked just like 90% of the adults I see when I come off our creek – lovers of self, proud, arrogant, conceited.

Paul also warns they will be lovers of money, ungrateful, unappeasable.  Yet again this sounds like a majority of people I see around me every day.  Always buying, spending, never taking time to enjoy what they already have, it’s all about more, more, more, spend, spend, spend.  My husband and I were just discussing this earlier as we noticed how certain people seem to blow money like mad buying anything and everything they want.  Only to throw it away or tear it up with in days or weeks.  They are never satisfied always looking for the perfect thing, never realizing that it doesn’t cost a dime.  Jesus fulfills us, satisfies us, in a way stuff and money never will.  When we accept him into our hearts, repent of our sinful ways (this includes the greed) we suddenly are freed to realize just how very blessed we are without all that junk.

 

 

People will also be abusive, disobedient to their parents, unholy, heartless, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power.  Just look around you and I bet you can find examples of each of these traits.  I know I can, I used to be guilty of all of these characteristics Paul mentions, but once I gave my heart to the Lord and repented of these ways instead focusing on serving him I found out what it truly means to be free.  To be blessed.  To live!  No longer am I a slave to this world, now I serve a higher world, a higher purpose, a heavenly King.

Psalm 2

If you are struggling with any of these signs of the times then I ask you to put your faith in Jesus and allow him to change you, free you from these tools of Satan that will ultimately destroy and condemn you.  Accept Jesus in your heart, confess your sins to him, repent and turn from them and embrace the grace the Lord offers.  Confess he is the Christ the Son of the living God who died for the repentance of sin then rose on the third day assuring us of the hope of eternal life with him.

empty_tomb_1

Maybe you’ve already done that, if so praise the Lord brother or sister and rejoice that you are not numbered among this list that will perish in the lake of fire if they do not wake up and repent.  Then get busy about the Fathers work and get out there winning souls still caught in the condemning lies, a trap with eternal consequences, to the Lord.  Introduce them to our sweet Savior and show them there is a better way, a way filled with love, life, blessings and hope.  Time is running out and we must be about the Father’s work while we still can.

1 Peter 5&8

May the Lord bless and keep you brothers and sisters.

Leave a Reply

