Our God Reigns

The Lord works in mysterious ways for sure, tonight I was preparing to write this post I was searching for a sermon or short message to focus me and came across an interview with Dave Crowder so I decided to watch it.  When at the end he was asked what his favorite verse was he said Psalm 98:4 and explained about the semicolon before it says to make a loud noise.  I looked the psalm up thinking maybe that’s where God wanted me to go and that led me to rereading 97 and wow did it hit me.  God definitely wanted me to reread it tonight, not to wait till I get there in my daily study in a few weeks.  I’ve read it before, several times, but never before did I really get it.  Tonight I did, maybe it’s because we are still working our way through the Chuck Missler Revelation study, which has been full of wonderful insights, he connects the dots throughout the Bible so well, and hints at even more connection for us to seek on our own.  It has been one of the best studies I have done in a long time.  I highly recommend looking the videos up on YouTube and watching them.  Anyway Psalm 97 is what really spoke to me and I want to share it with you tonight brothers and sisters.

He Reigns.jpg

The LORD reigneth; let the earth rejoice; let the multitude of isles be glad thereof. Psalms 97:1

He does reign in our hearts now, but one day very soon he will reign over the world, over the entire multitude of peoples when he comes as the conquering King of Righteousness at the end of the great tribulation.  As it says in Isaiah:

I have sworn by myself, the word is gone out of my mouth in righteousness, and shall not return, That unto me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear.  Isaiah 45:23

Before the LORD; for he cometh to judge the earth: with righteousness shall he judge the world, and the people with equity.  Psalms 98:9

The next several verses are basically Revelation, from the wrath of the Lamb earthquake in Rev. 6 to his triumphant return at the battle of Armageddon at the end of chapter 19,  it sums up the best and worst of what John saw.  I won’t comment on each verse here but encourage you to compare them yourselves.  I think you will find it profitable.

Clouds and darkness are round about him: righteousness and judgment are the habitation of his throne. Psalms 97:2
A fire goeth before him, and burneth up his enemies round about. Psalms 97:3
His lightnings enlightened the world: the earth saw, and trembled. Psalms 97:4
The hills melted like wax at the presence of the LORD, at the presence of the Lord of the whole earth. Psalms 97:5
The heavens declare his righteousness, and all the people see his glory. Psalms 97:6
Confounded be all they that serve graven images, that boast themselves of idols: worship him, all ye gods. Psalms 97:7
Zion heard, and was glad; and the daughters of Judah rejoiced because of thy judgments, O LORD. Psalms 97:8

Now we are given a hint of the coming millennia when Christ will rule the earth in perfect righteousness and justice.  He is Lord and he will take his rightful place as such.  All who love the Lord, will hate evil, will turn from it and seek only to live righteous lives pleasing to their Lord.  Will we be perfect, sinless as he was, not hardly!  We will sin occasionally but the difference is that when we are followers and bondservants of Christ we won’t relish and rejoice when we sin, instead we see it for what it really is and we instead feel remorse at how that old nature still wants to creep up on us, the soul is willing to seek after the ways of the Lord and leave the world behind but the flesh, the flesh is weak.  So we keep striving, keep following Him, allowing him to lead us guide us, chastise us when necessary and thus grow us into who he created us to be.

For thou, LORD, art high above all the earth: thou art exalted far above all gods. Psalms 97:9
Ye that love the LORD, hate evil: he preserveth the souls of his saints; he delivereth them out of the hand of the wicked. Psalms 97:10

love hate.jpg
Light is sown for the righteous, and gladness for the upright in heart. Psalms 97:11
Rejoice in the LORD, ye righteous; and give thanks at the remembrance of his holiness. Psalms 97:12

Leave a Reply

