Fear Not, Teach Trust

It’s been a challenging day here, a day that made me have to work extra hard to focus on God and His will for me today.  But some days those challenges come for a reason, today I think it was to show me where to go with this post.  I wasn’t sure whether to use a passage from my study earlier or what, nothing seemed to be right.  Then after a tense day dealing with my pre-teen and all his angst it hit me as I was putting him to bed.  See I was just as guilty today as he was of being short tempered, testy, even bossy, but God opened my eyes to my behavior and allowed me to then lead my son by my example to see how to handle the situation.  I am grateful for a day that could have driven us farther apart but when we trusted God and allowed Him to work on our hearts the situation drew us closer to God and each other.  My son’s faith grew stronger tonight, he learned to trust Jesus more, to love deeper, and to rely on God when he can’t do it on his own.

romans 10

God showed me that when we are fearful we find it hard to trust and He reminded me that it is my job as my boy’s mom to teach him the ways of God, what God’s word says about how we are to handle and deal with fear and trust.  So that’s what I did, I felt I should share it with you as well, after all we all have moments when this would be a good reminder.  You may want to memorize some of these verse to strengthen your walk and add to your armor.

psalm-5110

I first had to let go of my own frustration, open my eyes to see that I needed to teach my son.  I needed to go to God’s word and commands to teach from.  The approach to teaching will be different in every situation based on that moment.  Tonight my son didn’t want to obey me, instead he wanted to debate the issue.  I had to remind him of the 5th commandment to honor thy father and mother.  I also found it helpful to explain again the “chain of command” so to speak, you know that God is 1st or at the top then my husband (dad), me and finally our child.  This is ground we have covered often but the refresher seemed to be appreciated.

“Teach me, and I will be silent; make me understand how I have gone astray.  Job 6:24

Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths.  Psalms 25:4

Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.  Psalms 25:5

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.  Psalms 32:8

Hold Hands

Adult’s hands holding child’s hands, mature adult, child aged 2 to 3 years

I taught him scripture to convict him and allow him to see for himself what he was doing then I moved on to teaching him what the Word says about trust.  How it’s not always easy to do but it is always worth it.  Several of these are some of my favorite passages and ones I repeat often.

Trust in the LORD, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.  Psalms 37:3

Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.  Psalms 37:5

I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”  Psalms 91:2

You who fear the LORD, trust in the LORD! He is their help and their shield.  Psalms 115:11

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD GOD is an everlasting rock.  Isaiah 26:4

I finished by tackling the result of a lack of trust and a rebellious spirit that is hindering obedience.  FEAR.  I spent over 3/4 of my life living with fear.  I was terrified all the time.  But the day I gave my heart to the Lord and asked Him to enter into it, cleanse me that fear began to leave me.  I learned ways to fight it, learned that we are told 33 times in the Bible “fear not.”

And the LORD appeared to him the same night and said, “…Fear not, for I am with you and will bless you…”  Genesis 26:24

You shall walk after the LORD your God and fear him and keep his commandments and obey his voice, and you shall serve him and hold fast to him.  Deuteronomy 13:4

… Be strong and courageous. Fear not; do not be dismayed.  1 Chronicles 22:13

For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, “Fear not, I am the one who helps you.”  Isaiah 41:13

Fear not, nor be afraid; have I not told you from of old and declared it? And you are my witnesses! Is there a God besides me? There is no Rock; I know not any.”  Isaiah 44:8

And he said, “O man greatly loved, fear not, peace be with you; be strong and of good courage.” And as he spoke to me, I was strengthened and said, “Let my lord speak, for you have strengthened me.”  Daniel 10:19

Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.  Matthew 10:31

And he awoke and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Peace! Be still!” And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm. He said to them, “Why are you so afraid? Have you still no faith?”  Mark 4:39-40

But overhearing what they said, Jesus said to the ruler of the synagogue, “Do not fear, only believe.”  Mark 5:36

for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.  2 Timothy 1:7

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.  1 John 4:18

matt wi&20

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

