My Beloved Is Mine

My beloved is mine, and I am his; he grazes among the lilies.  Song of Solomon 2:16
Until the day breathes and the shadows flee, turn, my beloved, be like a gazelle or a young stag on cleft mountains.  Song of Solomon 2:17

One  of my devotionals today was taken from this beautiful passage in Song of Solomon.  It got me to really thinking about how I know that Jesus is mine and I am his, know it with a surety in my soul but every once and again I feel a moment of questioning.  I wonder how God can love me so much when I fail Him so often.  When I struggle to answer the call He places on me, when I am testy and tired and not following His Son’s footsteps, when I choose a distraction over studying His word, etc.  But then I look at my own child and realize that a parent’s love is unconditional.  No matter how trying that child of mine may be at times I love him, I would die for him, no hesitation.  That’s how our Father loves us only even more so, and that love is the most amazing assurance, a comfort in our less than stellar moments.  Well, I am pasting my devotional below, Spurgeon does a much better job than I with it.

My beloved is mine, and I am his; he grazes among the lilies.  Song of Solomon 2:16  Until the day breathes and the shadows flee, turn, my beloved, be like a gazelle or a young stag on cleft mountains.  Song of Solomon 2:17

Surely if there be a happy verse in the Bible it is this-“My Beloved is mine, and I am his.” So peaceful, so full of assurance, so overrunning with happiness and contentment is it, that it might well have been written by the same hand which penned the twenty-third Psalm. Yet though the prospect is exceeding fair and lovely-earth cannot show its superior-it is not entirely a sunlit landscape. There is a cloud in the sky which casts a shadow over the scene. Listen, “Until the day break, and the shadows flee away.”
There is a word, too, about the “mountains of Bether,” or, “the mountains of division,” and to our love, anything like division is bitterness. Beloved, this may be your present state of mind; you do not doubt your salvation; you know that Christ is yours, but you are not feasting with him. You understand your vital interest in him, so that you have no shadow of a doubt of your being his, and of his being yours, but still his left hand is not under your head, nor doth his right hand embrace you. A shade of sadness is cast over your heart, perhaps by affliction, certainly by the temporary absence of your Lord, so even while exclaiming, “I am his,” you are forced to take to your knees, and to pray, “Until the day break, and the shadows flee away, turn, my Beloved.”
“Where is he?” asks the soul. And the answer comes, “He feedeth among the lilies.” If we would find Christ, we must get into communion with his people, we must come to the ordinances with his saints. Oh, for an evening glimpse of him! Oh, to sup with him to-night!

Leave a Reply

