Battle of the Fruits

Lately I have thought a lot about what it means to be in the Spirit and how we are to go about that in this world that tries so very hard to get us to walk in the flesh.  It’s a battle everyday, one that requires me to always be in submission to doing my sweet Lord’s will and not my own for truly the Spirit is willing, but my flesh is pitifully weak.  As always I turn to the Word and to prayer to lead me.  Tonight I read the passage below and found it to be particularly insightful into the struggle between the Spirit and flesh.

But I say, Walk by the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; for these are contrary the one to the other; that ye may not do the things that ye would. But if ye are led by the Spirit, ye are not under the law. Now the works of the flesh are manifest, which are these, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, idolatry, sorcery, enmities, strife, jealousies, wraths, factions, divisions, heresies, envyings, drunkenness, revellings, and such like: of the which I forewarn you, even as I did forewarn you, that they which practise such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God. But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. And they that are of Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with the passions and the lusts thereof. If we live by the Spirit, by the Spirit let us also walk. Let us not be vainglorious, provoking one another, envying one another.  Galatians 5:16-26

I pray that my life will bear good fruit, the fruit of the Spirit and never anything less.  For I am of Christ and my desire is to always walk thereof.

Good night my beloved brothers and sisters in Christ, I pray this will encourage you as it did me and that as always the Father will bless and keep you.

Leave a Reply

